Boulder Philharmonic: Triumphant Returns with Sarah Chang

Sarah Chang, violin
Boulder Philharmonic Orchestra
Michael Butterman, music director

Samuel Barber—Violin Concerto
Anton Bruckner—Symphony No. 4

violin, orchestra, Sarah Chang

Sarah Chang, Violin

Sarah Chang, one of the most acclaimed violin soloists in the world, makes her return to the Boulder Phil, the orchestra that helped launch her career before her debut in 1989 with the New York Philharmonic at age 8. In this evening full of Romanticism, we have Samuel Barber’s gorgeous Violin Concerto, composed in an emotional and melodic style, but with plenty of virtuoso fireworks (the perpetual-motion finale was deemed “unplayable” by the concerto’s dedicatee). The concert concludes with the “Romantic” Symphony No. 4 of Anton Bruckner, whose music is moving and affecting, and emanates from devout religiosity.


Boulder Philharmonic
Phone: 303.449.1343, ext. 2

Saturday, January 12, 2013
Starts at 7:30 PM

Tags: , , , ,

About bhamilton


No comments yet.

Add your response